Infiniti Q50 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
2017 Q50 Premium Awd
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new here. I came from a lifted and heavily modified F150. I have always loved Infiniti since my college days where I worked as a valet, so now I have my very own Q50. It is a 2017 Premium Awd. The one thing I hate about it are the lowering springs. The car literally feels like it has no shocks or suspension when going over bumps and, when I go over even the slightest bump, the front end bounces 4 or 5 times. Maybe it's just because i'm 42 years old, but I HATE IT!! :ROFLMAO: I've done some youtube and google research, and everybody is saying to go with coilovers. What are your thoughts? I don't race the car, just spirited drives on the weekend to enjoy the car's power and turbos. I don't mind a stiff ride, but I want some suspension when going over bumps as well.

I'm looking for some recommendations, mainly whether I should go with coilovers or try to find some shocks to pair with the lowering springs. If so, what shocks and where can they be purchased? I did put some new Goodyear Exhilerate tires on it (245/40 r19) with an alignment and that did help the ride tremendously, but it obviously didn't do anything with the suspension issue. The car literally feels like a go cart and very un-infiniti-like. What do you recommend?

Attachments

·
Administrator
Newport, Oregon
14,285 Posts
I'm not a fan of lowering springs. IMHO, ditch those springs and go with coilovers.

·
Registered
135 Posts
I have driven in a few cars with lowering springs and always hated the ride. I would also recommend coilovers but do your research about brand and spring rate selection if you do down that path. You can configure a set to be compliant like OEM or extremely aggressive for the track. From what you wrote, 12k/8k spring rates may be a good starting point to consider but ask around for input.

Reactions: Bpm2348

·
Super Moderator
3,250 Posts
Reactions: Bpm2348

·