Infiniti Q50 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
I've removed my mufflers, no need to remove resonators as it's loud enough already.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
bear with me cuz I am a newbie, I just got my q50 literally yesterday. quick question, where did you get your straight pipe, hows it sound? you have any video lol

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
second person to ask me about my straight pipe today :D

you can get your car straight piped at any reputable muffler shop, for me im located in Vancouver BC, i had it done at quiet brake and muffler, the guys there did a great job doing exactly what i asked.

As for the exhuast sound itself, when the engines cold it drones a bit at around 2500-3000 rpm, but when its all warmed up, it sounds great and the droning is reduced, quiet when you want to drive normally, and loud when you get on the gas. I find when i have it wide open, its loudest at about 1500-3500 RPM, after that it kind of quiets down a bit, but still has the tone i was looking for.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for sharing that. That sounds real nice man, it is totally what I am looking for. So to get sound, all you need is a straight pipe and delete the muffler rite?

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
A straight pipe is basically a muffler delete, to be very specific i took it to the muffler shop, unbolted my muffler before i went in, and told them to weld me a flange with piping and tips, that bolts onto my existing flange. So if i wanted to i could go back to my stock system in my garage in 10 minutes.

Attachments

·
Registered
339 Posts
I like the sound but i'm not sure I like how....tinny? it sounds. It would be nice if that part of the note was reduced... I'm wondering how it would sound with just some new less restrictive mufflers..

O

·
Registered
853 Posts