Infiniti Q50 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Check engine light was thrown on the dash. I turned the car off and turned it back on to make sure it would even turn on, and after looking under the hood I see coolant splashed around its reservoir as well as the liquid inside boiling. I’m new to these cars the first thing I was told was to find an OBD2 scanner. Preferably one that connects to an app on my iPhone. Anything helps thank you !

·
Registered
1,871 Posts
Any OBD2 scanner will do the job. I would just look at the features and make sure it has all the functions you want so you don’t find yourself buying another one in the future. Personally, I just used my JB4 the one time I got a code.

Reactions: Cantbecw

·
Registered
54 Posts

·
Registered
St. Louis, MO
1,139 Posts
Not sure an App would be my 1st priority with a scanner. You use it what a few times a year if you have a couple of older cars? Better to spend extra money on a scanner that can also read ABS and SRS codes as well as the standard OBD codes. You can always Google the code number for instant hints on how to fix any problems. Just my 2 cents.

Reactions: Cantbecw

·
Administrator
Newport, Oregon
16,595 Posts
Not sure an App would be my 1st priority with a scanner. You use it what a few times a year if you have a couple of older cars? Better to spend extra money on a scanner that can also read ABS and SRS codes as well as the standard OBD codes. You can always Google the code number for instant hints on how to fix any problems. Just my 2 cents.
I agree. I bought a cheap WiFi OBDII scanner with an app and it doesn't have ABS or SRS capability either. Next one will.

Reactions: jcb and Cantbecw

·
Premium Member
2020 Q50RS Pro
239 Posts
This is the one that I use for both my Q50RS and my Mustang Bullitt for diagnostics and programming.