Infiniti Q50 Forum banner

Install Apps Via USB

86K views 27 replies 23 participants last post by  thatwonderkid 
#1 ·
Has anyone been able to achieve this? It gives us the option, recognizes USB device, but says no app files found. System is using Android 2.3 so Im sure it will install .apk files.

#4 ·
we can force the Android system to allow this type of update or maybe the install file extension is a different format.

I am a statistical programmer so i am not an andiod expert ... but i'd love to hack this dang thing to show infiniti that all you need is a little bit of determination.

I am looking for people that would be willing to collaborate on this ?

PS i have the source code from Denson

#19 ·
we can force the Android system to allow this type of update or maybe the install file extension is a different format.

I am a statistical programmer so i am not an andiod expert ... but i'd love to hack this dang thing to show infiniti that all you need is a little bit of determination.

I am looking for people that would be willing to collaborate on this ?

PS i have the source code from Denson
I'm an Android developer by profession! I'd love to figure this out! But need to know how we know the system is based on Android.

#6 ·
Since the system is Android, there has to be a way to Root the system to get into the root files. How do dealers update the system? There has to be some way they connect to InTouch. If I can figure it out then find a way to root it.

I dont want to start taking the car apart to see if there are any data ports on the unit, but why do they have the option available if we can never install our own apps? Infiniti does not even support MirrorLink, Carplay, or Android Auto.... We pay top dollar for these cars with shitty technology.

#7 ·
BE CAREFUL - CHANGING SETTINGS HERE COULD DAMAGE YOUR CAR OR LEAD TO LOSS OF SAFETY FEATURES AND THUS LIVES.

How to enter:
Start the car.
Turn Audio OFF.
Hit Settings Icon.