Infiniti Q50 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Premium Member
699 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok, I've been leasing for 20 years and already negotiaed my lease on the Q50, but I may decide in the next day or two to buy instead. Here are my reasons.
-one of the advantages of leasing is that usually leases are subsidized which allows you to get more car for a lower payment which helps make up for the fact that you are left with zero equity at the end. The Q50, at least for now, has no subsidies and I can get the same payment buying with 5500 down as I can leasing with 2000 down, except in 6 years I can still sell the Q for 16-20K.
-Car loans (my credit union is doing 1.9) are much better in comparison to the horrible money factor and residual on this car right now, so at that interest I don't mind having a longer loan.
-Tires! Two professional reviews now, and lots of reviews on Tirerack and we all pretty much know how horrible the run flats are, but not only that but the treadlife rating pretty much leads me to believe that these tires won't get more than 15K miles. From reading my lease contract I think Infiniti will expect the car to be returned with RFT's which means a huge expense and an entire lease term driving the car with bad tires that I don't need since I have the spare. I can trade in the Dunlops for Micheline AS3's and get much better handling and more than double the treadlife.

What do you guys think?

·
Premium Member
699 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I still have till May next year to decide but as it stands now you should
buy. With the low interest rates offered now even 72 months loan make sense.
Yep, if I do it I will do 72 since the rate is so low. I can always pay it off faster.

Reactions: ikagan

·
Premium Member
699 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·