Infiniti Q50 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
573 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, here is my detailing thread. Let me start off by saying I am not a professional by any means. I am just the type of person that if I am going to do something, I research it, get overly involved, and do the best I can at things. Thus, I have amassed a nice collection of detailing tools and products over the years. I do well with my own cars, and help out friends and family where I can. This is a run through of the first major detail of my Q50 at 600 miles on the clock. The paint was in relatively good shape, except for the common dealer installed marring and swirls. As this is my first time messing about with the Scratch Shield paint, I didn't try to do any heavy cutting at this time. I opted for a 90% correction, leaving any RIDS until next time, and just focusing on removing the majority of swirls. My goal was a cleaner and deeper black and shine, while allowing me to apply sealant and wax to a clean surface. Do note that it was cloudy and raining today, so finished pictures of the interior and exterior sun shots will be posted as soon as the weather clears in the next day or two.

Products Used:
Chemical Guys Mr. Pink Super Suds Shampoo
Chemical Guys Honeydew Snow Foam
Autogeek Foam Cannon
Pressure Washer
Chemical Guys V38 Optical Grade Final Polish
HD Uno Paint Correcting Compound
HD Poxy Sealent/Wax
Chemical Guys Black Light Hybrid Radiant Finish
Dodo Juice Purple Haze
Chemical Guys V07 Optical Spray Sealant
Chemical Guys Innerclean Quick Interior Detailer
Chemical Guys Watermelon Scent Air Fresh
Chemical Guys Glossworkz Glass Cleaner
Sonax Wheel Cleaner
Chemical Guys Clay Luber
Optimum No Rinse
Chemical Guys Sprayable Leather Cleaner and Conditioner
Meguiars Ultimate Black
Armor All Extreme Tire Shine
Car Pro Iron X
Car Pro Tar X
Car Pro Eraser Oil and Polish Cleaner
Chemical Guys Wash and Clay Mit
Porter Cable DA
Flex Rotary
Optical Micro Fiber Finishing Pads