Infiniti Q50 Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone, i've been driving a RSX-S for a good 7 years now and lately i've been itching to get a new car. I have my eyes on a Q50S and i LOVE everything about the car ,but i'm very dissapointed that infiniti doesn't offer the car in a 6MT. Which leads me to the question of how well do the paddle shifters perform?

Is upshifting/downshifting pretty fast?

Does the car automatically rev match on downshifts?

Is it truly like a MT in that the car is able to hit the rev limiter before a forced gear shift?

Lastly, how does the car react if i'm purposely in a higher gear ,such as 6th or 7, and i slow down will the car "stall" out? Or will the car just automatically force a downshift?

I'm aware that the Q60 has the 6MT option ,but i'm over the idea of 2 doors and i'm ready for a 4 door sedan. It's sad that the majority of other car makers are not offering a MT anymore, there's nothing like doing a good ole heel/toe downshift while simultaneously braking upon entering a turn.

·
Premium Member
2,672 Posts
shifting is faster than you can do it in a 6MT - plus better fuel economy than a 6MT
the Q50 does do downshift rev matching.
Yes, you can/will hit the rev limiter. The car will not automatically upshift for you - it will bounce off the limiter. It will auto downshift though (won't stall).

But no, it is not truly like a MT. It is a different overall feeling of connection between you and the car. I want to use a condom analogy, but that's not exactly accurate either. There is definitely something visceral that connects you more to the car when you have a manual shift knob in your hands.

My suggestion is do a 24 month lease on a Q50. By then we'll know for sure whether there is a 6MT coming.

·
Premium Member
2,672 Posts